If you’re planning a move to Florida, you need to be aware of the auto insurance laws. This state requires you to register your car in Florida if you plan to stay for more than 90 days in a one-year period. If this is the case for you, then there are some things that you need to know.
For instance, you may assume that you can just use the automobile insurance that you received in your home state. This is actually against the regulations set out by the state of Florida. They require that your Florida auto insurance be purchased in the state. If you happen to work with a national company, such as State Farm, you could just ask them to transfer your insurance from the original state to your new one. This can save you a lot of hassle in finding casinos when you click here and completely new company from which to get your automobile insurance.
These aren’t the only rules that you will need to follow. In the past, the state of Florida required that all drivers have personal injury protection, also known as PIP in their insurance. They have recently changed these rules. Now you are not required to have this kind of liability insurance. This means many changes for drivers, including lower initial insurance payments. The downside may be that you will pay much more out of your own pocket if you happen to cause an accident that causes bodily harm to others. Still, a lower price is a real draw for a lot of people.
Although you don’t need to worry about personal injury protection anymore, there are still requirements in order to qualify for Florida vehicle registration. There are minimum amounts required for Property Damage and Bodily Injury Liability. You need to have a plan that has at least $10,000 in both. If you plan to have two drivers under this one car, then the amount for Bodily Injury Liability would go up to at least $20,000. They make these requirements so that you will be covered just in case anything should happen while you are out driving.
There are circumstances when there may be no fault in an accident. In this case, there are Florida auto insurance requirements for this as well. Under this law, you would need to have $10,000 minimum for Personal Injury Protection and a least $10,000 for Property Damage Liability. Once you have met all of these criteria, you will have valid Florida automobile insurance. Driving in this state will then be a breeze.
If you want to be able to drive in Florida while you live there, you’ll need to follow these casinos online rules. There are other rules that you will need to follow as well, though. For instance, you will still need valid Florida car insurance on any of your cars, even if you aren’t currently driving them.
This applies to cars that are in storage or on your lot awaiting repair. There is one way around this, though. If you know you won’t be driving the car for some time, you can surrender your registration and tags to your local driver’s headquarters. This way, they know you won’t be able to drive your car, and you won’t need the insurance. If you don’t give them these items though, you will still need insurance.
By not following these rules, you are putting yourself at risk, as well as other people on the road. You need insurance so that you are covered just in case anything should happen to you while you are out driving. Although it may seem annoying to have to pay these fees, they are worth it in the end.